Target Jobs Undergraduate of the Year Awards

A few weeks back I decided to apply for the Target Jobs Female Undergraduate of the Year awards. This is an annual award that enables girls to apply to win a range of fantastic prizes including a summer internship at Rolls Royce. As part of the application process we had to provide written responses to a number of questions demonstrating leadership. This was followed up by a series of online tests. The top 20 applicants were then invited to a two day networking and interview event to meet people at Rolls Royce, learn about the company, the work environment and the kinds of work they do. I was excited but nervous about the interview day!

The interviews were a short technical presentation requiring us to explain a technical concept in just over 5 minutes. I decided to talk about neural networks as I had built one for the Google AIY competition with Electromaker. The second interview was more of a business one, where I had to talk about my character, demonstrate various leadership qualities etc. This was a useful experience but tough and although I think it went badly, I learned a lot about the types of questions to expect in any future interview. After this process I got shortlisted to the top ten and have received a confirmed place on the Rolls Royce summer internship.

The award ceremony is on 30th April, which is very exciting. I will be working in the data labs at Rolls Royce over the summer and that is even more exciting and I will be updating this blog with what I do there, providing I can talk about it!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.