Open UK Internship and Creative Director Position

For the last couple of months I have been working with Open UK and you can read more about who they are here. I was initially approached by Amanda Brock who saw my video entry for the Open UK awards asking if I wanted to join the team as an intern, to make the courses and learning more kid friendly. This would involve the use of the MiniMu Glove kit and you can read all about that here.

I was enjoying working as part of the team to develop the new courses and was surprised but pleased to be invited to take on the position of Creative Director. This was quite a challenge as the project was behind a few months and it required working really hard to get things back on track in a very short period of time. The role required me having to come up with ten very simple projects featuring the glove kit and using the minimum in extra resources. The idea is that anyone can pick it up and they don’t need lots of other expensive things to get the project to work. The courses are designed to develop kids programming skills within the KS3 level and tie in with the ten open source definitions and the UN sustainability development goals.

Ten Open Source Definitions

It was great to hear that the Open UK Digital Camp was runner up in the first GNOME Community Challenge and I am very happy to be part of the amazing team.

Balancing all this with my studies has been a major challenge but time management has been a skill I have developed over the last few years and I know this is yet another fantastic experience to add to my CV. Thanks to the rest of the team!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.